Skip to content
August 19, 2012 / Tracey

Review: Second Glance | Jodi Picoult

Bestselling author Jodi Picoult has published an astounding twenty novels, and has achieved global success as a writer.  Probably best known for her novel My Sister’s Keeper published in 2004 and later made into a movie in 2009, reading Second Glance was my first introduction to Jodi Picoult’s work.

The blurb describes Second Glance as: “One of Jodi Picoult’s eeriest and most engrossing works, this is a story about the things that come back to haunt us – literally and metaphorically.”  Reading this, I figured it sounded like the perfect place to start.

A house and large plot of land is being sold in Vermont, but little does the buyer know, the house has a history.  Strange things begin to happen as the developer begins to demolish the house, and Ross – a paranormal investigator, in town to visit his sister – offers to look into the situation.

What he doesn’t expect is to fall in love and re-open a 70 year old murder case.  Picoult takes us back in time to when owners of the house were leaders in eugenics and a terrible tragedy took place.

This is a story of love, family and identity, and Picoult deftly weaves the story and the characters together in a meaningful and touching way.  I enjoyed learning how the characters were linked together and how destiny or fate played a role in each of their lives.  It was quite beautiful although at times heartbreaking.

“I think Second Glance is my biggest accomplishment to date.” – Jodi Picoult (Source: author website, August 2012)

This was a fabulous introduction to popular author Jodi Picoult and I’ll be sure to read more of her work in the future.

My rating = ***1/2

That’s my four bucks!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. readmore / Aug 22 2012 12:40 am

    Someone recommended this Picoult book to me a while back, Tracey, but I haven't gotten to it yet. Your review makes me want to read it sooner rather than later, so I hope to fit it in this year sometime. I've read several other Picoult novels and loved them all so far.

  2. Tracey / Aug 22 2012 5:23 am

    Fantastic, that's great to hear. I'd love to hear how this one compares to her other books.

Leave a Reply

